11e Symposium du CITAV

Attention, ouverture dans une nouvelle fenêtre. PDFImprimerEnvoyer

Maladies infectieuses: Les défis globaux de la santé publique pour la prochaine décennie

Dédié au regretté Donald E. Low, M.D., FRCPC

Du 18 au 20 novembre 2014
York Institute for Health Research
Université de York, Toronto, Canada

banner

Cela fait plus de dix ans que le SRAS est arrivé à Toronto. Entre-temps, le monde a connu la pandémie de grippe H1N1 de 2009 et une résurgence de la polio, alors que des épidémies de TB-MR, de MERS et d'Ebola menacent encore et que la dengue se propage partout dans le monde. Les outils de surveillance insuffisants, l'absence de tests de diagnostic et d'agents thérapeutiques ainsi que la facilité considérablement accrue de transmission globale, la montée de la résistance aux antibiotiques et les déficits de politiques publiques, sont des enjeux majeurs à une préparation adéquate. Que pouvons-nous faire au cours des dix prochaines années pour être mieux préparés ?

The Symposium will include sessions on the infectious disease challenges facing different regions of the globe. Among the diseases that will be examined are those caused by the: H7N9 influenza virus, MERS coronavirus, Ebola, dengue and chikungunya viruses as well as drug-resistant tuberculosis. New targets for drug development, new approaches to therapies for those infected and the health policy obstacles to implementation, will be addressed.

Le Symposium comprendra des sessions sur les défis des maladies infectieuses de différentes régions du globe. Parmi les maladies qui seront examinées, celles causées par le : virus de la grippe H7N9, le MERS coronavirus, l'Ebola, le virus de la dengue et le chikungunya ainsi que la tuberculose pharmacorésistante. Les nouveaux objectifs pour le développement de médicaments, les nouvelles approches aux thérapies pour ceux infectés et les obstacles de politique de santé à la mise en œuvre, seront abordés.

Les objectifs majeurs du Symposium comprennent :

  • Faire progresser la recherche et le développement de nouvelles thérapies anti-infectieuses par la mise en place de collaborations de recherche entre les scientifiques, les professionnels de la santé, les experts en santé publique et les partenaires de l'industrie
  • Ouvrir les étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux au mérite de travailler sur les problèmes d'importance mondiale et promouvoir les échanges internationaux
  • Faciliter les échanges entre les communautés de recherche et la santé publique, conduisant à l'amélioration des politiques et des pratiques afin de mieux se préparer et à relever le défi des maladies infectieuses.

Les jeunes chercheurs et conférenciers invités auront l'opportunité de présenter leurs travaux. Les jeunes chercheurs seront choisis en fonction de la qualité des résumés soumis.

Des tables rondes et des séances de présentation d'affiche se tiendront également afin de fournir des lieux informels d'interaction entre les délégués et les conférenciers.

ICAV 11th International Symposium

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrint option in slimbox / lytebox? (info)E-mail

Infectious Diseases: Global Public-Health Challenges of the Next Decade

In honour of the late Donald E. Low, M.D., FRCPC

November 17, 2014 - Satellite Workshop

RAPID PRODUCTION OF IMMUNOTHERAPEUTICS FOR EMERGENT/ RE-EMERGENT INFECTIOUS DISEASE OUTBREAKS

Workshop Description

Schedule and Speakers

November 18 – 20, 2014
The Schulich School of Business
York University, Toronto, Canada

banner

It has been over ten years since SARS arrived in Toronto. In the interim, the world has experienced the 2009 H1N1 influenza pandemic and a resurgence of polio while outbreaks of MDR-TB, MERS, and Ebola still threaten and dengue is spreading around the world. Inadequate surveillance tools, the lack of diagnostic tests and therapeutic agents plus the vastly increased ease of global transmission, the rise of antibiotic resistance, and public policy deficits are major challenges to adequate preparation. What can we do over the next ten years to be better prepared?

The Symposium will include sessions on the infectious disease challenges facing different regions of the globe. Among the diseases that will be examined are those caused by the: H7N9 influenza virus, MERS coronavirus, Ebola, dengue and chikungunya viruses as well as drug-resistant tuberculosis. New targets for drug development, new approaches to therapies for those infected and the health policy obstacles to implementation, will be addressed.

Key objectives of the Symposium include:

  • Advance research and development of new anti-infective therapies by building collaborations between scientists, health care providers, public health experts and industry partners
  • Introduce students and postdoctoral fellows to the exciting opportunities to work on problems of global importance, and promote international exchanges
  • Facilitate dialog between the public health and research communities, leading to improved policies and practices to better prepare for and confront the challenge of infectious diseases
  • Accelerate the launch of two specific technologies; the first being a novel anti-infective to combat multi-drug resistant tuberculosis, and second being the use of therapeutic antibodies to treat persons critically ill from infectious diseases.

Opportunities will be provided for young investigators to present their work along with invited keynote speakers. The young investigators will be selected on the basis of the quality of their submitted Abstracts. Panel discussions and Poster sessions will also be held to provide informal settings for interaction between and among Delegates and Speakers.